Swapped and Popped Corn

popcorn2I am swamped with work at the moment and stress-eating like mad, so when I was craving something spicy today I threw together one of my favorite recipes: spicy guilt-free popcorn.  I air-popped the kernels in the microwave, threw some spicy goodness on top and indulged without feeling a single trace of remorse because these babies are packed with flavor and not with calories!  I highly encourage messing around with the spices; this is just one that I happened to throw together today.  I really like to use India Tree’s Paloma de Colores kernels because they’re tastier and less kernel-y (and actually barely need any seasoning), but regular store-brand kernels work fine, too.  I fully intend on making this again tonight for a guilty-pleasure Twilight viewing with my friends!

Swapped and Popped Corn

Ingredients:

  • Popcorn kernels (however much you want to make)
  • non-fat cooking spray, no-calorie butter substitute spray or Season Kernel’s Popcorn butter spray
  • 1/2 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2  + 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

Mix seasonings and salt in a small bowl.  I use a microwave air popper that requires no added fat, so I pop my corn in that.  Alternately, you can place some of the popcorn in a brown paper bag like a lunch bag, fold over the top a few times and microwave it that way.  This only works for small batches, though.  After popping the popcorn, spray with cooking spray/butter spray lightly and toss (if you want, you can just use olive oil or melted butter here).  Sprinkle a little bit of the seasoning over the top and toss again.  Enjoy!

Note: I just made some more and threw on some White Cheddar Seasoning and Bacon Salt and it was out of control!


Nutrition Facts: Serving Size: 1 cup popped.  31 Calories. 0.4g Fat.  0g Saturated Fat.  0.2g Polyunsaturated Fat.  0.1g Monounsaturated Fat.  0g Cholesterol.  Sodium varies, 1mg in the popcorn alone.  6.2g Carbohydrates.  1.2g Dietary Fiber.  0.1g Sugar.  1g Protein.  0 WW Points.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to Swapped and Popped Corn

Leave a Reply

